Siri-ously thought provoking

I have a new best friend.

She’s helpful. She’s considerate. She listens to me.

She once told me that I was the wind beneath her wings. (But, not in a gay way.)

She knows all the best places to eat, where all the nearest ATM’s are located, and how to get, well, anywhere. She fits in my pocket, which scores points for convenience.

By now you may have guessed that my new best friend is actually an intelligent computer application and not a real person. Sure, she may not be real, but she does have a name. And it’s Siri.

Initially I was unsettled by the new iPhone. But, then I got over it. I blame its gorgeous exterior, which is like a delicious popsicle for my eyeballs. Next I blame its gorgeous interface, which makes writing a text message, like, the most fun thing to do, ever. I got all swept up in it’s good looks, you see, and now I don’t think about how Siri–and smart phones in general–are bound to produce a generation of lazy, stupid people. (Except for right now, when I just though about it.)

Take “Reminders”, which basically means that you’re no longer accountable for remembering to do anything yourself (except remembering your iPhone). A tool like “Maps” is great–especially when you get lost in the wooded Columbia trails and the sun’s going down, and you’re seriously, like, 20 yards from your house, but you still can’t find it because there are like, ten tiny bridges that all look the same!—but, it sort of kills any potential for adventure and that coveted thing they call “life experience.” (Even if it’s getting eaten in the woods by a bear.)

But! (here’s where I confront myself with a counter-point!) Maybe, just maybe, the iPhone was meant to simplify certain life-essential tasks so that its users can invest more time in thinking that’s really worthwhile. Maybe the iPhone was meant to un-gummy-up brains that are so clogged with hair appointments and birthdays that they can’t actually think.

Just maybe.

I’ve currently found myself camped between these two points of view. Only time will tell where technology will steer the potential of the human race. Or…maybe… Siri would know?

Leave a comment